Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In
Knowledge Portal > News > Posts > Congratulations UW Ob-Gyn Department Award winners!
June 21
Congratulations UW Ob-Gyn Department Award winners!

On June 20, the UW Department of Ob-Gyn celebrated faculty, residents, staff and more at our annual department awards ceremony. Congratulations to the 2019 winners!

Residency Program Awards

  • Chief Resident Recognition – Han Cun, MD; Ashley Durward, MD
  • UW Health Interdisciplinary Global Health Track Recognition – Emily Rosen, MD
  • American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists (AAGL) Award – Lauren Verrilli, MD
  • Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons (SLS) Award – Antonio Romo de Vivar Chavez, MD
  • Resident CREOG Award – Brenda Niu, MD
  • Ben M. Peckham Award – Emily Rosen, MD
  • Society for Academic Specialists in General Obstetrics & Gynecology (SASGOG) Resident Award – Emily Rosen, MD
  • Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO) Award – Mary Kao, MD
  • American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS) Award – Sierra Jansen, MD
  • Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine (SMFM) Award – Melissa Meyer, MD

Research Awards

  • Phillip R. Hamilton III, MD Award – Lauren Verrilli, MD
  • Douglas W. Laube, MD Best Graduate Trainee Paper Award – Sydney M. Nguyen
  • Roland K. Meyer Graduate Trainee Award – Jessica Vazquez, PhD
  • Chester B. Martin, MD Graduate Training Program Mentorship Award – Aleksandar Stanic-Kostic, MD, PhD

Faculty Recognition Awards

  • John M. Anderson, MD Memorial Award – Kristen Sharp, MD
  • Kimberly J. Miller Compassionate Colleague Award – Kristen Sharp, MD
  • Dolores A. Buchler Award – Luther Gaston, MD
  • Karl A. Rudat Award – Jacob Lauer, MD
  • Outstanding Fellow Educator – Jacquelyn Adams, MD
  • St. Mary's Adjunct Faculty Educator Award – Ryan Luellwitz, MD
  • Meriter Adjunct Faculty Educator Award – Kate Sample, MD
  • Society for Academic Specialists in General Obstetrics & Gynecology (SASGOG) Award – Luther Gaston, MD
  • Sabine Droste Award – Jennifer Karnowski, MD
  • Ellen Hartenbach Award – Heidi W. Brown, MD
  • CREOG Faculty Award – Jennifer Karnowski, MD

Department Award

For the first time ever, the department gave out an Ob-Gyn Support Staff Award. According to Department Administrator Jenni Stevens, there were many wonderful nominees for the award: Jackie Askins, Tess Jewell, Heena Kansara, Christy Lincicum, and Cheri Verdecchia. In gratitude for more than 40 years of exemplary service, the award went to:

  • ObGyn Support Staff Excellence Award – Karen Watson

Medical Student Awards

  • Dr. Samuel G. Perlson Scholarship – Jessica Walker; Nicole Fennimore; Cassidy Bommer
  • T.A. Leonard Award – Allison Weisnich; Ari Stone
  • Medical Student Educator Award for Resident Teaching – Alexa Lowry, MD
  • Outstanding Resident Teaching Award – Emily Rosen, MD


There are no comments for this post.